Monday, February 11, 2013

Your new Ontario cabinet, and some facts and firsts

Excited to see the new cabinet sworn in today. In particular, I'm very happy to see Charles Sousa and Yasir Naqvi as Finance and Labour Minister respectively. I started this blog in 2007 in large part to help support the local campaigns in Mississauga South and Ottawa Centre, so seeing them both in cabinet is fantastic.

Here is the new cabinet of Ontario:

Kathleen Wynne-Premier of Ontario, Minister of Agriculture
Deb Matthews-Deputy Premier of Ontario, Minister of Health and Long-Term Care
Jim Bradley-Minister of the Environment 

John Gerretsen-Attorney General of Ontario
Michael Gravelle-Minister of Northern Development and Mines 

Ted McMeekin-Minister of Community and Social Services 

Laurel Broten-Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Minister responsible for Women's Issues
Brad Duguid-Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities
Linda Jeffrey-Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Chair of Cabinet

Jeff Leal-Minister of Rural Affairs
Madeleine Meilleur-Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services, Minister responsible for Francophone Affairs
David Orazietti-Minister of Natural Resources
Liz Sandals-Minister of Education
Harinder Takhar-Minister of Government Services, Chair of the Management Board of Cabinet

David Zimmer-Minister of Aboriginal Affairs
Michael Chan-Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, Minister responsible for the 2015 Pan and Para Pan American Games
Reza Moridi-Minister of Research and Innovation
Yasir Naqvi-Minister of Labour
Charles Sousa-Minister of Finance
Eric Hoskins-Minister of Economic Development, Trade & Employment 

Glen Murray-Minister of Transportation, Minister of Infrastructure

Bob Chiarelli-Minister of Energy
Michael Coteau-Citizenship and Immigration 

Tracy MacCharles-Minister of Consumer Services
Teresa Piruzza-Minister of Children and Youth Services
Mario Sergio-Minister responsible for Seniors
John Milloy-Government House Leader
And some facts and firsts:   As well noted, Wynne is Ontario's first female premier, and the first openly LGBT Premier/non municipal head of government in North America and the Commonwealth   Reza Moridi is the first Iranian-Canadian provincial cabinet minister in Canada   Women control the Premiership, the Deputy Premiership, and the ministries of Health, Education, Intergovernmental Affairs, Municipal Affairs and Housing, Community Safety and Correctional Services, Francophone Affairs, Consumer Services, and Children and Youth Services   9 members will be new to cabinet, with 3 being elected in the 2011 election. On the flip side, Mario Sergio was first elected in 1995.   Madeleine Meilleur in Francophone Affairs is the only Minister to have held the same portfolio from 2003 on.   I've personally volunteered on election campaigns for Meilleur, Hoskins, Sousa, Naqvi, Murray and Chiarelli.

No comments: